Skip to content

Putting That T-Shirt You Never Wear to Good Use

April 7, 2010

If you have sentimental t-shirts lying around that are either too small to wear or are too worn and torn to be appropriate to wear, don’t throw them out!  You can turn them into cool display art with t-shirt frames like these from Urban Outfitters.

But, as is often the case, you can make t-shirt frames yourself!  All you need is an acrylic box frame, like this 8.5″ x 11″ one that is $3.99 from Target, or this 8″ x 10″ one that is $2.99 from Amazon.  Fit the t-shirt around the cardboard backing and secure it with masking tape.  The only real trick is to buy a frame that your shirt will fit around, including at least 2 inches of extra room so that you can pin it around the sides of the frame box.  I don’t recommend cutting your t-shirt to fit the frame, though.  I’m all for preserving what is sentimental, and it just takes a slightly more careful hand to wrap the shirt around the frame edges and secure it in place.

I did this to an old t-shirt my Mom got at a funky old pub the first time she ever went to visit my Dad in his hometown of New Orleans, because I love the shirt so much that I’m scared to wear it!  It also makes for a great wall decoration that is much more personal and interesting than those basic college posters.  I already can see myself adding some of my sentimental UVA t-shirts to this display some day!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

