Skip to content

Myrtle the Turtle

June 9, 2010
by

Meet Myrtle, the red eared slider:

No, neither Caroline, nor I have a pet turtle, although that does sound fun.  This is actually a turtle that my mom rescued on the side of the road just the other day.  While this isn’t entirely (or at all really) related to our blog, I felt it was worth sharing with you all.  While this hasn’t happened in a long time, when I was younger my mom frequently used to rescue “near-run over” turtles on the side of the road, always bringing them back to our house to later release them in a safe area–in this case, transporting said turtle in her gym bag in the back of the car!  It was always extremely exciting for me, as I (and Caroline, by the way) have always been a huge animal lover.  I only wish I could be the rescuer one of these days!

And that is my cat, Max, checking out Myrtle before we made him into turtle soup.  Kidding!  Don’t panic, people.  This was merely a nice (and closely monitored) meet-and-greet before bringing him out to the stream in the backyard.  Although Caroline did have turtle soup once when she was about 8 years old.  Her family’s from New Orleans, and when she ate it she had no idea it was an actual turtle…and when she found out, she started bawling because she loves animals and never would have opted to eat a cute little turtle.  She cried even harder though because according to her, it tasted “so damn good”, so she felt even guiltier for liking it.  This story makes me laugh.

The moral of the story is…we released Myrtle back out into the wild, hopefully in a place where it will take him a LONG time to ever venture into danger again.  Oh yah, and try to avoid unknowingly eating turtle soup. The End.

Have any readers out there ever rescued an animal on the side of the road before?  Turtle, bird, dog, cat, squirrel even?  We’d love to hear about it!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2010 4:19 PM

    Welcome to D.C., ladies! During my years living here, I’ve rescued two box turtles – much to my surprise, I should add. One was ambling across Constitution Ave. one Sunday morning. He/she peed on my hand when I picked him/her up to expedite the crossing. Another looked like a dirty hardball, lying in the middle of MacArthur Blvd. Fortunately, we were close to the reservoir, so I’m hoping that became his/her new home.

    People may hate us for a variety of reasons, but D.C. residents take our wildlife seriously! I’m sure you’ve seen the pics of someone stopping traffic for a mama duck and her chicks to cross some major street safely. We’ve done so well, peregrine falcons have returned along with some other hawk I haven’t identified yet. Pretty cool for our nation’s capital city, eh?

    • June 10, 2010 5:11 PM

      Thanks for sharing Peg! You sound like a pro, haha. Don’t know how those turtles found their way into busy DC streets, but they’re definitely lucky you were around.

      Love that about DC!

  2. Kelly permalink
    June 12, 2010 11:47 AM

    I don’t think that’s a box turtle, I think it’s a red eared slider (and most likely a female due to its short claws). It looks just like my turtle, Trevor, who my mom rescued not from the side of the road, but from the middle of an office building when he was only the size of a quarter. Now he is four inches long, and we have been able to determine that he is a male because of his extremely long front claws and his long fat tail.

    • June 12, 2010 1:23 PM

      Thanks for the correction, turtle expertise and visiting the blog! I had been trying to identify it online and that makes a lot more sense–especially since it has red on its face. I’ll edit the post right now 🙂 You’re turtle sounds adorable by the way.

      xo Laura & Caroline

Leave a Reply

